Field Hockey Canada > Field Hockey Canada announces complete inaugural Hall of Fame class

Field Hockey Canada has announced the complete list of inductees to its inaugural Hall of Fame class.

For their outstanding accomplishments and tireless dedication to the sport of field hockey in Canada, four Eastern Canadian inductees, Patrick Burrows, Sharon Creelman, Dr. Sue Neill, and Dr. Marina van der Merwe join inductees from the West, Dr. Harry Warren, Nancy Mollenhauer, Paul “Bubli” Chohan, and Sumesh Putra as the Hall of Fame’s first class.

Each of the eight inductees are outstanding and accomplished individuals, who have had a profound impact on field hockey in Canada.

Patrick Burrows – Athlete

One of the longest serving athletes on the Men’s National Team, Patrick’s international career spanned almost twenty years at the senior level. During this time during the eighties and nineties, Burrows competed in two Olympic Games (1984 and 1988), three World Cups of Hockey (1986, 1990, 1998), and three Pan American Games (1983, 1987, 1995). With his wealth of experience and talent, Burrows led Canada to two gold and one silver medal at the Pan American Games. He retired after 224 senior international caps, which is among the Top 10 in Men’s National Team history.

Sharon Creelman – Athlete

As one of Canada’s most decorated international athletes, Sharon was part of the Women’s National Team “dynasty” through the eighties. A member of the Senior National Team for twelve years from 1982-94 and team captain from 1987 to 1994, her career featured 139 senior international caps and many international highlights. Among the competitions in which she participated were three Olympic Games (1984, 1988, and 1992), four World Cups (1983, 1986, 1990, and 1994), and two Pan American Games (1987 and 1991). Sharon’s distinguished career included silver and bronze medals at the World Cup, and a silver and bronze at the Pan American Games.

Dr. Sue Neill – Builder

Sue Neill’s name is synonymous with the development of field hockey in Canada and internationally over the past several decades. As President of the Canadian Women’s Field Hockey Association from 1972-82, Sue was instrumental in the development of the women’s game both here at home and abroad. She was coach of the Women’s National Team in 1974. Sue has also served as a member of the Executive Board of the International Hockey Federation (FIH). She was elected to the Pan American Hockey Federation (PAHF) Board of Directors in 1983, where she stayed for 28 years, only stepping down in 2011 when she was named a PAHF Honorary Life Member.

Dr. Marina van der Merwe – Builder

Marina van der Merwe has had as big a hand as anyone in the development of women’s field hockey in Canada since the seventies. A longtime Canadian University field hockey coach who presided over six silver medals, and two bronze at the National level, the South African-born coach is best known for being at the helm of Canada’s Women’s National Team dynasty in the eighties. She coached the national team for twenty years from 1976-96 and produced a perennial international powerhouse. Marina’s developed some of the best Canadian field hockey players of all time and her teams qualified for every major international competition in the eighties, including three Olympic Games (1984, 1988, 1992), and captured a silver medal at the 1983 World Cup.

For bios of the inductees to be honoured in Vancouver, who were announced earlier in October, click here.

The eight inductees will be celebrated at two regional events, the first, honouring the Western Canadian inductees, in Vancouver in November; the second, honouring the inductees from the East, next summer in conjunction with the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto.


The creation of the Field Hockey Canada Hall of Fame along with its accompanying events could not be possible without the continued support from our partners at the Canadian Olympic Committee.