Field Hockey Canada > Fundraiser to support 2010 CG Athletes

Fundraiser to support 2010 CG Athletes

September 22, 2009 | Field Hockey Canada |

Vancouver Fundraiser to Support 2010 Commonwealth Games Athletes

September 22, 2009

On Thursday, September 24, 2009, Commonwealth Games Canada (CGC) will join Avtar Bains, Monika Deol, Global Television sportscaster Squire Barnes and some of Canada’s top athletes to fundraise for Canada’s Commonwealth Games team headed to Delhi, India to compete in the XIX Commonwealth Games from October 3 to 14, 2010.

CGC’s national “Dream it in Delhi” fundraising campaign was launched in 2007 with a goal of raising $3.5 million to help off-set the costs of sending Canada’s contingent to Delhi. CGC estimates that it will cost $10,000 per athlete (expenses include travel and accommodation, medical services, team uniform and media operations) and are asking individuals, organizations and corporations to help support the team through the ‘adoption’ of athletes headed to the 2010 Commonwealth Games. Donors receive a tax receipt plus additional benefits and acknowledgements.

“The 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games is a tremendous opportunity to strengthen the Canada-India relationship through sport,” said George Heller, President of the Commonwealth Games Foundation of Canada. “Avtar, Monika and their committee of volunteers have done a fantastic job with this event, and we are so thankful to the Vancouver business community for its support of the athletes who will represent Canada on the international stage in India in October 2010.”

Members of the media are invited to attend the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games Fundraising Celebration to meet athletes and learn more about Commonwealth Games Canada’s plans to help Canada’s top summer athletes excel on the world stage, following the anticipated success of Canada’s top winter athletes at the Olympic and Paralympic Games in Vancouver.

Where: Shangri-La Hotel, 1128 West Georgia Street, 6th floor (Vancouver)
When: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
What: The evening reception will feature a live Dhol and Bhangra performance, followed by welcoming comments, athlete introductions, and keynote speech by Charmaine Crooks. Refreshments will be served.
Who: Athletes confirmed include:

·          Charmaine Crooks, Commonwealth Games gold medallist and five-time Olympian (athletics)
·          Annamay Pierse, Olympic swimmer, world championship silver medallist and candidate for Canada’s 2010 Commonwealth Games team
·          Jasvir Singh, Olympic weightlifter and candidate for Canada’s 2010 Commonwealth Games team
·          Anna Rice, Commonwealth Games and Olympic badminton player, Canadian National Champion
·          Ranjeev Deol, Commonwealth Games and Olympic field hockey player
·          Bobby Milroy, Commonwealth Games badminton player and former President of the World Badminton Players Federation
·          Suzanne Weckend, Commonwealth Games athlete (swimming) and retired triathlete, member of CGC’s board of directors and High Performance Advisory Committee
·          Zach Bell, Commonwealth Games and Olympic track cyclist, potential member of Canada’s 2010 Commonwealth Games team
·          Wayne Fernandes, Commonwealth Games and Olympic field hockey player
·          Arjan Bhullar, Pan American Games Junior champion wrestler, two-time National Junior champion and potential member of Canada’s 2010 Commonwealth Games team.

All athletes will be available for media interviews and photographs throughout the evening.


About Commonwealth Games Canada

Commonwealth Games Canada (CGC) is the international franchise holder for the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth movement in Canada, and an active, contributing member of the Canadian sport community. The mission of Commonwealth Games Canada is to strengthen sport within Canada and throughout the Commonwealth, by participating in the Commonwealth Games and by using sport as a development tool.




For further information, please contact:

Thomas Jones, CEO

Commonwealth Games Association of Canada



Sandra O’Connell, Member – Event Organizing Committee