Field Hockey Canada > Pools announced for women's WC Qualifiers

Pools announced for women’s WC Qualifiers

November 25, 2009 | Field Hockey Canada |

FIH announces pools for women’s World Cup Qualifiers

November 25, 2009

After nine teams already qualified automatically for the BDO FIH World Cup women 2010, 18 formations still have a chance to qualify through one of the three World Cup Qualifiers.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) announced the pools and locations for these tournaments.  Canada will compete in San Diego, California alongside Korea, Belgium, France, Mexico, and host United States.

Below are the pools:

AtaHolding World Cup Qualifier women, San Diego CA, USA, Friday 26 March- Saturday 3 April 2010
USA, Korea, Belgium, Canada, France, Mexico

BDO World Cup Qualifier women, Kazan, Russia, Saturday 17-Sunday 25 April 2010
Japan, Azerbaijan, Italy, Russia, Belarus, Wales

BDO World Cup Qualifier women, Santiago, Chile, Saturday 24 April-Sunday 2 May 2010
Australia, Ireland, Chile, Malaysia, Scotland, Trinidad & Tobago

The qualification system for the BDO FIH World Cup women 2010 is similar to the one used for the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and the Hero Honda FIH World Cup men 2010. Nine teams are directly qualified through the Continental Championships, while the remaining three vacancies will be filled from three separate qualification tournaments.

The format for the three World Cup Qualifiers is as it was for the Olympic Qualifiers: a six teams’ single round robin competition with a final to decide which team will qualify.

The following teams are directly qualified for the BDO FIH World Cup women, to be played in Rosario, Argentina from 30 August-12 September 2010:

    * Argentina (Host)
    * South Africa
    * New Zealand
    * Netherlands
    * Germany
    * England
    * Spain
    * China
    * India

For more information please visit the FIH Website.


Source – International Hockey Federation