Field Hockey Canada > Dru Marshall receives Geoff Gowan Award

Dru Marshall receives Geoff Gowan Award

November 22, 2010 | Field Hockey Canada |

Dr. Dru Marshall and Lyle Sanderson to receive Geoff Gowan Award for lifetime contributions to coaching development in Canada

November 22, 2010

OTTAWA – The Coaching Association of Canada (CAC) is pleased to announce that Lyle Sanderson and Dr. Dru Marshall are this year’s recipients of the Geoff Gowan Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Dru Marshall — Edmonton, Alberta

Marshall’s notable career coaching women’s field hockey includes 20 years as head coach of the University of Alberta Pandas and a period as head coach of Canada’s senior national team. As part of her role, Marshall developed not only athletes, but leaders and citizens – many of whom, inspired by Marshall, have continued to teach, coach, and become leaders in the sport at colleges and universities throughout Canada and the United States.

A dynamic advocate for post-secondary coach education, Marshall has been a part of developing sport in Canada in many capacities. She has held numerous leadership positions within the university setting and nationally, contributed to the development of the federal government’s 2009 Women in Sport policy, served on the Sport Excellence Committee that examined federal sport policies, and was a part of the Coaching Working Group that investigated coaching in Canada. 

A sought-after presenter and speaker, Marshall’s extensive writing on coaching has contributed significantly to its evolution into a respected and significant component of sport in Canada. She currently serves as an author and editorial board member for the Canadian Journal for Women in Coaching and is on the editorial board of the International Journal of Coaching Science. 

“Every winner of the Geoff Gowan Award has been an exemplary leader in all aspects of coaching in Canada, and Dru Marshall is no exception,” says Gabor Csepregi, chair of CAC’s Board of Directors. “Dru embodies a lifetime commitment to coach education and a passion for sport. It is with great pleasure that CAC recognizes Dru with this award.”


Lyle Sanderson — Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Track and field coach, educator, motivator, mentor, and sport leader are all words that describe Lyle Sanderson.  An NCCP Level 5 certified coach, Sanderson has not only influenced and coached at the national level through University athletics but has also coached at the international level, including three Olympic Games.  His career and dedication have been rewarded on several occasions; he has received honours as the University of Saskatchewan’s Coach of the Year 10 times, CIS Coach of the Year five times, Canada West Track and Field Coach of the Year every year it was awarded but one, a two-time winner of the Canadian Track and Field Association’s Coach of the Year award, and he has been inducted into three halls of fame. 


A pioneer in integrating NCCP training into university programs, Sanderson has trained hundreds of technical track and field candidates and has conducted coach education clinics and workshops on four continents. He has also held numerous leadership posts including being a member of the IAAF’s Working Group on Youth Athletics, a team leader of its Athletics World Plan for School and Youth, and a member of its School Youth Commission.

“Lyle Sanderson has built an extraordinary reputation that epitomizes the Geoff Gowan Award,” states Csepregi.  “His willingness to go above and beyond both on and off the track is a testament to his dedication to the coaching profession. CAC is very proud to be recognizing Lyle with this well-deserved award.”


About the Geoff Gowan Award

Dr. Geoff Gowan is a former track and field, soccer, and rugby coach who now resides in Halifax. He was president of CAC for 16 years and for 25 years was a popular and respected colour commentator for CBC’s television coverage of track and field.

The Geoff Gowan Award was created in 1996 and recognizes lifetime contribution to coaching development. It is awarded to a coach who has presented a positive public image of coaching and enhanced the role of the coach with the Canadian public. 

The Geoff Gowan Award will be presented during Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif, scheduled to take place in Ottawa, November 18-20, 2010. The Sport Leadership Awards ceremony will take place on Friday, November 19, 2010 at 18:30 at The Westin Ottawa, Confederation Ballroom.


Previous winners of the Geoff Gowan Award include:


2009 Tim Frick, Wheelchair Basketball and Keith Russell, Gymnastics

2008 Douglas Leigh, Figure Skating

2007 Andy Higgins, Athletics

2006 Clare Drake, Ice Hockey

2005 Charles Cardinal, Volleyball

2004 Donald Dion, Diving

2003 Marilyn Savage, Artistic Gymnastics

2002 Al Morrow, Rowing

2000 Doug Clement, Athletics

1999 Jack Donohue, Basketball

1996 Geoff Gowan, Athletics


About CAC

The Coaching Association of Canada is a not-for-profit amateur sport organization with the mission of enhancing the experiences of all Canadian athletes through quality coaching. CAC and its partners deliver a leading-edge coaching system whose goal is to have an impact on 1,000,000 athletes through the training of 100,000 coaches each year in the National Coaching Certification Program. Visit for more information about coach education and training.