Field Hockey Canada > Lynne Beecroft to be inducted into University of Victoria Sports Hall of Fame

The University of Victoria will induct two former student-athletes and a new team into the University of Victoria Sports Hall of Fame at a ceremony on April 4 at the Victoria Conference Centre.

Current Vikes women’s field hockey coach Lynne Beecroft will be inducted into the player’s category to recognize her outstanding career as a player at the interuniversity and national team level. As a star player with UVic from 1975-79, Beecroft was a member of the Vikes first Canada West championship team in her rookie season and went on to represent Canada at the Olympic Games in 1984, earning 58 caps with the Canadian national team.

Tickets are available for the Vikes Celebration of Champions which includes the Hall of Fame inductions combined with the Vikes annual Athletics Awards to recognize the outstanding achievements of UVic student-athletes over the past year.

Hall of fame inductees will be honoured at the 2011 UVic Vikes Celebration of Champions banquet on Wed. April 4, 2012. Tickets are available for purchase at for $80 plus HST



Michael Edgson, Swimming (Athlete)

– Trained with the Vikes beginning in 1987

– One of the most decorated Paralympian athletes in Canadian history

– Won 18 gold and 3 silver medals, setting 9 World records over 3 Paralympic Games

– Represented Canada at three Paralympics Games (1984, ’88, ’92)

– Three-time recipient of BC Disabled Athlete of the Year award (1984, ’88, ’90)

– Finalist for the Canadian Athlete of the Year award in 1992

– First Paralympic swimmer to be inducted into Swimming Canada’s Circle of Excellence (2009)


Lynne Beecroft, Field Hockey (Athlete)

– Competed with the Vikes from 1975-79

– Member of UVic’s first Canada West championship team (1975)

– Member of the BC Provincial team from 1975-84, and won Senior National championship in 1980

– 58 caps with the National team (1977-85)

– participated in three World Cups (1978, ’81, ’83) and one Olympic Games (1984)

– helped Canada to a silver medal at the 1983 World Cup in Kuala Lumpur 

– has coached the Vikes for 28 years, winning 11 CIS Championships


1981-82 Women’s Basketball Team 

– CIAU National Champions (UVic’s 3rd straight/ 3rd overall)

– Canada West Champions 

– Regular Season record of 19-1 (24-1 Overall)

– Perfect 10-0 at home

– During the regular season they outscored opponents 1582-974 

– Outscored opponents at Nationals by a 96 point margin (223-127)

– Defeated Bishop’s 70-55 in the National Finals

– Placed two players on Canada West 1st team All-Stars (Hebb, McAra)

– Hebb awarded CIAU player of the year, CIAU Tournament MVP, CIAU 1st team All-Canadian

– Team coached by Kathy Shields. Players included Sandy Espeseth, Leslie Kaehn (Godfrey), Shawnee Harle, Luanne Krawetz (Hebb), Sandy Chambers, Janine Prince, Susie Neil, Tracie Sibbald (McAra), Jamie Jones (Mackie), Sue Shaw, Shelley Godfrey