Field Hockey Canada > Tupper, Gillis named 2013 Players of the Year

Tupper, Gillis named 2013 Players of the Year

January 28, 2014 | Field Hockey Canada |

In recognition of their hard work and determination, Field Hockey Canada recently presented several of the national program athletes with special honours. The celebration brought together players and staff from the men’s and women’s national programs to acknowledge their outstanding achievements throughout the past year.

Players of the Year

Kate Gillis and Ian BaggottScott Tupper and Kate Gillis were named Field Hockey Canada’s Players of the Year for 2013.

Scott consistently performs at a high level in every game, showcasing his passion and desire to achieve success, not only for himself but for the team. Scott has transformed his game over the past year, with his short corner flick often determining the outcome of games.

A standout player both on and off the field, Kate was recognized for embodying the values of the team and establishing herself as a natural leader of the group. Kate’s approach to the game lifts and inspires all around her to keep chasing and hunting, and she’s quickly establishing herself as a world-class player on the international stage.

Taking their inspiration from Hollywood’s current awards season, the coaching staff prepared an Oscar-worthy way to announce the recipients:



The awards were presented by Ian Baggott, President of Field Hockey Canada.


Goal Scorers of the Year

Thea Culley and Ian BaggottThea Culley and Karli Johansen were co-recipients of the title of Goal Scorers of the Year for the women’s program. Thea scored six goals in 11 games throughout 2013 – her last two goals coming in the 2-1 win over Chile for the bronze medal at the 2013 Pan American Championships. Karli scored six goals in seven matches, including a hat-trick against Ireland.

In addition to his Player of the Year honour, Scott Tupper also took home the Goal Scorer of the Year, with 11 goals in 12 games.

PAHF Elite Teams

During the evening, the six Canadian recipients of the Pan American Hockey Federation’s Elite Team honours were presented with their certificates on behalf of PAHF. The Elite Team is named every two years, recognizing the top players in the Pan American region.

Scott Tupper, Mark Pearson, Kate Gillis, Dani Hennig and Hannah Haughn


Photos courtesy of Paul Winstanley.