Field Hockey Canada > Women’s National Team named for New Zealand’s Hawke’s Bay Cup

Eighteen athletes have been named to the Canadian women’s field hockey team which will play in the 2016 edition of the Hawke’s Bay Cup in New Zealand from April 2nd-10th.

The eight-team tournament features five of the top women’s field hockey teams in the world: Australia (World No.3), New Zealand (No.4), China (No.5), Korea (No.9), and Japan (No.10). India (No.13), Ireland (No.15), and Canada (No.19) round out the eight.

Prior to the Hawke’s Bay tournament, the Canadian women will play two test matches against the New Zealand Blacksticks women.

“The USA Series provided the perfect opportunity for us to start our year against a well prepared and top opposition,” says Women’s National Team head coach Ian Rutledge. “The series now provides us with a heightened sense of urgency and sharpened focus over the next specific training phase as we build to the New Zealand tour.”

The Women’s National Team touring roster is led by active cap leader Thea Culley (Rossland, BC) and fellow team captains Kate Gillis (Kingston, ON) and Danielle Hennig (Kelowna, BC).

Culley, Gillis and defender Abigail Raye (Kelowna, BC), are all expected to play in their 150th senior international matches for Canada during the New Zealand tour.

Coming of a series against the United States in San Diego during which three athletes – Alexis de Armond (Victoria, BC), Nikki Woodcroft (Waterloo, ON), and Rowan Harris (Ottawa, ON) – made their senior international debut, Vancouver’s Thora Rae will do the same during in New Zealand.

“Off the back of a positive debut series, Rowan’s performances demand more senior exposure,” Rutledge adds. “Young Thora Rae has impressed in both the U-21 Chile Series and Women’s National Team trainings and has demanded our attention and that her performances be rewarded.”

The Canadian women last travelled to New Zealand for training and test matches in January 2015.

This year’s test matches with the Blacksticks will be played on March 27th and 28th. Canada will open the Hawke’s bay tournament against Korea on Saturday, April 2nd at 11:00am local t ime.

Canadian Women’s National Team Roster – 2016 Hawke’s Bay Cup

Name Position Hometown
Abigail Raye Defender Kelowna, BC
Amanda Woodcroft Midfielder Waterloo, ON
Brienne Stairs Forward Kitchener, ON
Danielle Hennig Defender Kelowna, BC
Hannah Haughn Forward North Vancouver, BC
Holly Stewart Forward North Vancouver, BC
Kaitlyn Williams Goalkeeper White Rock, BC
Karli Johansen Defender North Vancouver, BC
Kate Gillis Midfielder Kingston, ON
Kathleen Leahy Midfielder Victoria, BC
Maddie Secco Midfielder Victoria, BC
Natalie Sourisseau Midfielder Kelowna, BC
Rowan Harris Goalkeeper Ottawa, ON
Sara McManus Defender Tsawwassen, BC
Shanlee Johnston Defender Vancouver, BC
Stephanie Norlander Forward North Vancouver, BC
Thea Culley Forward Rossland, BC
Thora Rae Forward Vancouver, BC


Canadian Women’s National Team Staff – 2016 Hawke’s Bay Cup

Head Coach – Ian Rutledge

Team Manager – Nancy Mollenhauer

High Performance Manager / Video Analyst – Stef Sloboda

Athletic Therapist – Rachel O’Brien