Field Hockey Canada > 2016 Hall of Fame inductees honoured at ceremony in Vancouver

On July 8th, Field Hockey Canada’s 2016 Hall of Fame inductees were honoured in front of family, friends, teammates, and current National Team athletes at a ceremony in Vancouver, British Columbia.

The Olympic-themed induction ceremony was embceed by two-time Olympian Ian Bird, and was combined with a special sendoff for the 2016 Canadian men’s Olympic field hockey team, which was named only days prior.

Janet Ellis, Nick Sandhu, and the 1964 Canadian Men’s Olympic Team were celebrated at the gala dinner at St. George’s Senior School in Vancouver.

Ellis was introduced by Field Hockey Canada Chair Ian Baggott and presented her Hall of Fame award by current Women’s National Team member and captain Kate Gillis.

Sandhu was introduced by his daughter, and former Women’s National Team member, Poonam Sandhu, and presented his award by 2014 Hall of Fame inductee, three-time Olympian, former teammate and mentor Paul “Bubli” Chohan.

And the 1964 Olympic team was introduced by current Men’s National Team defender Benjamin Martin – who later in week played in 100th international match for Canada – and were each presented specially designed 1964 Olympic pins by former Men’s National Team member and Olympian Alan Hobkirk.

2016_hof_inductees-1 2016_hof_inductees-2 2016_hof_inductees-3