Field Hockey Canada > BC Island Team announced for Nationals

BC Island Team announced for Nationals

June 23, 2010 | Field Hockey Canada |

Women’s BC Island Team announced for Nationals

June 22, 2010 

Victoria – Following intensive trials held earlier this month, Field Hockey BC has named the women’s BC provincial team representing Vancouver Island at the 2010 FHC Senior National Championships, being held at the University of Victoria, June 30 to July 04. 

Round robin play and Opening Ceremonies will commence on Wednesday, June 30, with playoffs to determine medal qualifiers on Saturday, July 03. Championship titles will be decided on Sunday, July 04 starting at 9:00 am with the women’s bronze medal game. 

The Vancouver Island squad brings together a combination of island all stars including current national team members Diana Roemer (Cobble Hill, BC), Ali Lee (Victoria, BC), Robyn Pendleton (Victoria, BC) and Katie Collison (Duncan, BC). Also competing in the women’s line-up are several former National team member including Katie Rushton (Victoria, BC) and Paige Norris (Victoria, BC); as well developing players Kyla Kirby (Victoria, BC), Chelsea Morton (Duncan, BC) and Courtney Ellis (Victoria, BC). Senior Nationals will also see some familiar Island men competing including Victoria’s Kevin Laidman, James Kirkpatrick and Arsh Butter.

The Senior National Championships is the most important event for all top provincial athletes competing for positions on Junior and Senior National Teams representing Canada at Olympic Games, World Cups, Commonwealth and Pan American Games.

“The Senior Nationals is the highest level of field hockey played in Canada, outside of international tournaments, which launched me onto a career playing for Canada.  The Vancouver Island side is a true contender for the national championship.” commented Katie Rushton, former National Team member and holder of 69 international caps.


2010 FHC Senior National Tournament


BC Vancouver Island Women’s Team:  

Katie Colison, Duncan

Courtney Ellis, Victoria

Kira Graham, North Vancouver

Danielle Henning, Kelowna

Kyla Kirby, Victoria

Sydney Kolysher, North Vancouver

Emily Koznuik, North Vancouver

Anna Kozniuk, North Vancouver

Ali Lee, Victoria

Courtney Low, Richmond

Chelsea Morton, Duncan

Paige Norris, Victoria

Robyn Pendleton, Victoria

Diana Roemer, Cobble Hill

Katie Rushton, Victoria

Natalie Wise, Surrey