Field Hockey Canada > Commonwealth Games schedule released

Commonwealth Games schedule released

May 21, 2010 | Field Hockey Canada |

FIH releases Commonwealth Games hockey schedule

May 21, 2010

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) and the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) have released the hockey schedule for the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games, with four women’s matches to kick-start the competition on 4 October.

A total of ten men’s and ten women’s teams will compete in the11-day hockey tournament, to be played on two pitches of the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in the Indian capital, the same venue as the Hero Honda FIH World Cup in March this year.

The Canadian women’s team opens their Games against Malaysia on Monday, October 4th.  The Canadian men’s team opens their tournament against South Africa the next day.

The draw sees teams allocated across two pools.


Pool A: Australia, Pakistan, India, Malaysia, Scotland.

Pool B: England, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, Trinidad & Tobago.



Pool A: Australia, South Africa, India, Scotland, Trinidad & Tobago.

Pool B: England, New Zealand, Canada, Malaysia, Wales.


The women’s final is schedule for Wednesday 13 October, while the men’s teams will compete for the gold medal one day later.

For complete match schedule please click here .