Field Hockey Canada > Senior FH Championships Return to Victoria

Senior FH Championships Return to Victoria

June 24, 2011 | Field Hockey Canada |

The National Field Hockey Championships are coming to Victoria for the second consecutive year.  The tournament, hosted by the University of Victoria, will run from June 29th through July 3rd.  This is the largest domestic tournament of the year, showcasing Canada’s top men’s and women’s field hockey players.  It will also give Canada’s Junior National Athletes a chance to shine. 


The National Championships will be an opportunity for both current and up-and-coming athletes to showcase their talent for Team Canada coaches, Louis Mendonca (women’s) and Robin D’Abreo (men’s). Athletes will bring their best game as they are each vying to represent Canada at the upcoming Pan American Games in October.  The Games, in Guadalajara, Mexico, also present the first opportunity to qualify for London 2012. 


This year features four British Columbian teams in the women’s division and two in the men’s.  Team Canada’s own Katie Collison, Ali Lee, and Diana Roemer will be competing for a top BC women’s team.  Several BC men’s teams will include Victoria natives and National Athletes Kevin Laidman, Derrick Norton and Sean Paget.  Local athletes and members of the Junior National team competing for BC include Maddie Secco, Sarah Keglowitsch, Elspeth McGillivray, James Kirkpatrick and Arsh Butter.


The National Championship is comprised of ten women’s teams representing Ontario, Alberta, Prince Edward Island, Manitoba, and the Women’s Canadian Junior National Team.  The men’s division will feature five teams including Ontario, Alberta, the Men’s Canadian Junior National Team and two BC teams.  


Click here to view the Schedule…  

– 30 –

For more information, please contact: 

Ali Lee    

FHC Senior National Team Media Liaison      

Victoria, BC                                     



Amy van Hemmen

FHC Communications Coordinator

Ottawa, ON