Field Hockey Canada > Women's Junior Squad members named to NCAA Division I National Academic Squad

Six members of the Women’s Junior National Squad have been recognized for their academic achievement by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association in the USA.  The following athletes have been named to the 2011 Division I National Academic Squad:

Jonel Boileau Hofstra University Kelowna, BC
Jessica Buttinger Duke University Kitchener, ON
Mary Nielsen Duke University Cowichan, BC
Shannon Elmitt University of California, Berkeley West Vancouver, BC
Simone Lazar Central Michigan University Toronto, ON
Holly Stewart University of Maine North Vancouver, BC

“On behalf of Field Hockey Canada I would like to congratulate these remarkable young women on their ability to balance their academic commitment with both Varsity and National Team responsibilities,” said Head Coach Peter Milkovich.  “Certainly these are qualities we feel are important to the development of a strong program and as we move forward we will continue to support players in their pursuit of both academic and athletic success.”

The next competition for the Women’s Junior National Team is the USA-Canada Challenge, April 4 – 8 where Canada’s U21 and U17 teams will take on the USA Junior Women’s Teams at Rutledge Field in West Vancouver, BC.