Field Hockey Canada > Men’s National Team and Development Squad named for 2016

Field Hockey Canada and the Canadian Men’s National Field Hockey Program have named the Senior Men’s National Team and Development Squad rosters for the 2016 competition year.

In total, thirty-nine athletes from across the country and with a wide range of experience have been named to the two squads.

The National Team roster comprises of twenty-five players from which the majority of competition teams in the year ahead will be selected. All sixteen men who represented Canada at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto, where Canada won silver, are on the National Team.

Veterans Scott Tupper (Vancouver, BC), Mark Pearson (Tsawwassen, BC), Philip Wright (Vancouver, BC), Dave Jameson (Vancouver, BC), Richard Hildreth (Vancouver, BC), and Iain Smythe (Vancouver, BC) lead the way in terms of experience, with a combined 1,013 senior international matches played between them.

Rising stars Adam Froese (Abbotsford, BC), Gabriel Ho-Garcia (Burnaby, BC), Devohn Noronha-Teixeira (Mississauga, ON), and Paul Wharton (Vancouver, BC) give the team an infusion of youth, while keepers David Carter (Vancouver, BC) and Antoni Kindler (Vancouver, BC) bring a wealth of experience between the pipes.

The Senior Development Squad is made up of a mix of veteran and young athletes, with junior standouts Amrit Sidhu and Balraj Panesar cracking the squad.

Canada’s men have qualified for the 2016 Olympic Summer Games which will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil next August. The majority – if not all – the athletes who will make up Canada’s field hockey team at the competition will be chosen from the athletes named to the rosters below.

In the nine months leading up to Rio, the Canadians have a full schedule of competition in preparation for the Games. First up, the men will compete at the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Hockey World League Final from November 27-December 6 in Rajpur, India.

2015-16 Canadian Men’s Senior National Team 

Name Position Hometown Caps
Adam Froese Defender Abbotsford, BC 119
Antoni Kindler Goalkeeper Vancouver, BC 52
Ben Martin Defender Vancouver, BC 83
Brenden Bissett Forward New Westminster, BC 35
David Carter Goalkeeper Vancouver, BC 117
David Jameson Defender Vancouver, BC 231
Devohn Noronha-Teixeira Forward Mississauga, ON 54
Gabriel Ho-Garcia Forward Burnaby, BC 62
Gordon Johnston Defender Vancouver, BC 73
Hudson Stewart Defender Vancouver, BC 82
Iain Smythe Midfield Vancouver, BC 110
Jagdish Gill Midfield Toronto, ON 41
James Kirkpatrick Forward Victoria, BC 28
John Smythe Forward Vancouver, BC 29
Keegan Pereira Forward Ajax, ON 83
Mark Pearson Midfield Tsawwassen, BC 182
Matthew Guest Forward Calgary, AB 102
Matthew Sarmento Forward Vancouver, BC 44
Paul Wharton Midfield Vancouver, BC 53
Philip Wright Midfield Vancouver, BC 143
Richard Hildreth Defender Vancouver, BC 132
Scott Tupper Defender Vancouver, BC 215
Stephen Bissett Forward New Westminster, BC 7
Sukhi Panesar Midfield Surrey, BC 51
Taylor Curran Midfield Vancouver, BC 97


2015-16 Canadian Men’s Senior Development Squad 

Name Position Hometown Caps
Adrien d’Andrade Defender Coquitlam, BC 4
Amrit Sidhu Forward Abbotsford, BC
Arif Virjee Midfield Vancouver, BC 7
Balraj Panesar Midfield Surrey, BC
Harbir Sidhu Forward Victoria, BC
Harp Virdi Forward Vancouver, BC 6
Josh Brown Forward Victoria, BC
Justin Dhaliwal Forward Surrey, BC
Leo Bannister Midfield Hamburg, GER 10
Manvir Kingra Defender Surrey, BC 4
Oliver Scholfield Forward Vancouver, BC 16
Sunny Ajula Defender Surrey, BC 4
Tristan Burgoyne Goalkeeper Vancouver, BC
Vikram Sandhu Forward Vancouver, BC