Field Hockey Canada > Men’s National Team named, schedule confirmed for 2016 Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia

Men’s National Team named, schedule confirmed for 2016 Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia

Photo: 2015 Hockey World League Final, Raipur, India. By Yan Huckendubler.

March 21, 2016 | Shaheed Devji |

Field Hockey Canada’s Men’s National Program has confirmed the Men’s National Team roster for the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, a pre-Olympic tune-up tournament to be held in Ipoh, Malaysia from April 6-16, 2016.

Led by team captain Scott Tupper, who is currently ranked 10th all-time in matches played for Canada with 222, the team consists of 14 of the 16 athletes who won a silver medal at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto last summer, helping Canada officially qualify for 2016 Olympics.

The remaining four athletes on the eighteen-man roster (Jagdish Gill, Richard Hildreth, Antoni Kindler, and Keegan Pereira) all represented Canada at the 2015 Hockey World League Final in India last December.

This year’s Azlan Shah Cup is the twenty-fifth edition of tournament hosted by the Malaysian Hockey Federation. The seven-team tournament will feature four of the twelve teams headed to the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil this August.

Canada, which is currently ranked fourteenth in the world, is one of the teams headed the Olympics and will be joined in Malaysia by fellow Olympic qualifiers Australia (World No.1), India (World No.7), and New Zealand (World No.8).

The tournament line-up is rounded out by Pakistan (World No.10), host Malaysia (World No.13), and Japan (World No.16).

Canada opens the tournament on April 6, 2016 at 4:05pm local time against Pakistan.

For Canada’s full schedule, results, and game recaps click here.

Follow Field Hockey Canada on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for full tournament coverage.


Canadian Men’s Field Hockey Team – 2016 Azlan Shah Cup
Athlete NamePositionHometownCaps
Adam FroeseDefenderAbbotsford, BC126
Antoni KindlerGoalkeeperVancouver, BC57
Benjamin MartinDefenderVancouver, BC84
Brenden BissettForwardNew Westminster, BC42
David CarterGoalkeeperVancouver, BC122
Devohn Noronha-TeixeiraForwardMississauga, ON61
Gabriel Ho-GarciaForwardBurnaby, BC69
Gordon JohnstonDefenderVancouver, BC80
Iain SmytheForwardVancouver, BC111
Jagdish GillDefenderToronto, ON46
Keegan PereiraForwardAjax, ON85
Mark PearsonMidfielderTsawwassen, BC187
Matthew GuestForwardCalgary, AB107
Matthew SarmentoForwardVancouver, BC46
Richard HildrethDefenderVancouver, BC138
Scott Tupper*DefenderVancouver, BC222
Sukhi PanesarMidfielderSurrey, BC58
Taylor CurranMidfielderNorth Vancouver, BC99

*Team Captain


Staff – 2016 Azlan Shah Cup

Head Coach – Anthony Farry

Assistant Coach – Paul Bundy

Team Manager – Geoff Matthews

Video Analyst – Greg Drake

Physiotherapist – Josh Ferguson

Communication Manager – Shaheed Devji